Stan Terry cartoonist

Stan Terry cartoonin London Opinion 1939 December p25

It’s funny how one piece of work can attract you. The picture scanned from London Opinion was just like that.  I couldn’t understand the joke, but suspected it had something to do with class. In the hope of learning soemthing I searched for “Slate Club” and found:

Definitions of slate club

1. [n] -(British) a group of people who save money in a common fund for a specific purpose (usually distributed at Christmas)

A savings club!

Now I presume that anyone in the RAF is seen as a bit better off than someone having to put by money for a Christmas hamper.  Have I done this to death? I love his strong lines, certain lines and the caricatured faces. However looking at his other work on the Net, I can’t see the same thing, maybe it’s just me.

Anyway, it took a while to understand the signature and make out this Stan Terry not Stan Jerry! There are pictures of his cartoons all over the Net – ten are on punchcartoons.com. Unfortunately I can’t find anything about the gentleman! Even the excellent Cartoon Archive has nothing!

6 comments on “Stan Terry cartoonist

  1. Tony says:

    My uncle’s WWII London diary records regular visits to contribute to a Slate Club, and the Christmas distribution of funds. See 25 Jan 1943 entry for instance, where I’ll take the liberty of copying the cartoon and referring to your website.

    • standby4action says:

      What a fantastically interesting blog Tony. I shall mention it to my daughter who teaches history in a Secondary school. I’m so glad the bits and pieces I put on this infrequent blog are useful to someone.

  2. John Dayus says:

    Hi Tony,
    We recently bought an original pen and ink drawing by Stan Terry, together with a letter that he had sent to a lady that had inspired the ‘joke’ of the cartoon.We would love to know more about him, so if you ever turn up anything, please let us know. The cartoon that we have, by the way, was published in 1920 and featured a vicar and a verger. Interestingly, cartoonists often had two or three different names for cartoons in different styles in those days.

    John Dayus

    • standby4action says:

      Hi John
      I’ve published this and emailed Tony so he sees this. Any chance of sending a scan of the piece for me to add here? I can be contacted at
      feedback **AT** frankbellamy **DOT** co **DOT** uk – obviously replacing the letters with the symbol you normally expect in an email address!

Leave a Reply

