Detective work can be inspiring!

I said this blog would be intermittent, I add things as they come across my pile of scanning, things which I don’t want to get lost and want to be seen by others. Of my three blogs this one gets some great responses! That makes me feel happy! Here is one such email from Morgan Wallace:

Hello.
While trying to research some original art, I found your site when looking up “They Make Us Smile” by Bradshaw, because one of my pieces is by Gilbert Wilkinson, and another by Mervyn Wilson. I have four other pieces that I’ve yet to trace.
Here’s the full story:
I own about two dozen assorted pieces, dating from 1941-1944, and they are all original commission pieces, done for a Lt. Davis, apparently, as a few of them are made out to him.  Most are English artists, but, I found one to be an American whom might have been in England when created, one French, one Italian, both of whom submitted works to English outlets during the war.
Of the pieces I have identified, several contributed to publications such as PUNCH and other humor outlets. Others were newspaper illustrators, doing political and war art for the period.
One is a post card artist. A few others were comic strip artists. Yet another reportedly worked for Walt Disney Studios and returned to the UK before the war (Chas. Cole) but I can’t prove that he actually worked there. Newspapers from the period indicate that he did. [shrug] Any clues?
Now, to the four that I’ve yet to nail down….
The JIZ signature is clear and obvious but I don’t know who used the initials. JIZ authored and illustrated “Really, Miss Henderson” in 1946. Beyond that, I’ve not found anything else on JIZ.
 
 

Jiz

By the artist ‘JIZ’

Regarding the clearly legible PALMER, one by that name is noted to have been in 1946 “Pick of Punch” covering July 1945 through June 1946, and contributed to “I Couldn’t Help Laughing! an Anthology of

War-Time Humour” edited by D. B. Wyndham Lewis, in 1941, reprinted 1944. A “Palmer” also was a Spanish comic strip artist, but, not sure if this is one-and-the-same, there, either. I have no access to the above publications, so can’t research them further to see if any details are given.

palmer

By the artist ‘Palmer’

The illegible signatures appear to be Keve and Guder, which all must be wrong, since I can’t find a single thing on these guesses. So, clearly I’m wrong on those.

Keve

By the artist ‘Keve’?

Guder

by the artist ‘Guder’?

I hope you can assist and also please share these images with anyone you know in the field that might know. I’ve just finished asking Chris Beetles and he eliminated one for me at a quick glance, being Gilbert Wilkinson. The signature looks nothing like the name, but, Chris is of course correct. So, I’m down to only four unidentified pieces.
I’d deeply love to know who they were, as I do enjoy all the pieces. A little history and knowledge on them goes a long way.
Cordially,
Morgan Wallace

I asked Morgan for permission to publish this in the hope that someone may have a clue and at the same time could he foprward the names of the other artists – as that might give some further clues (serendipity is a legitimate form of research in my book!)

No problem.

Chas. Cole is one I mentioned before. He is more famously known after WW2 as “Windy Blow,” the clown that blew up balloons into all sort of shapes, etc. Before the war, apparently, I’m guessing in the 1930s, he was hired by Walt Disney Studios, but I don’t know who to contact to prove this. British newspapers have his name mentioned, that he and other artists traveled the UK doing shows and such. During the war, apparently he was injured, lost a lung, and that led to the balloons, to develop his one good lung. I can’t find any proof that he WAS enlisted during the war, however. Maybe he simply was injured DURING the war, and not actually a soldier, then? Who knows….real name was David Cecil born 1910.

Other relevant artists to this search included are below. How they signed the artwork I have is listed first before their full name. You’ll note five below contributed to PUNCH, so, possibly that some of the un-identified pieces might too have come from PUNCH or some other humour publications.

I hope all this information is helpful.

  • A. Harvec (Andrea Harvec)–French artist, syndicated in the UK’s THE DAILY MIRROR.
  • Acanthus (Harold Frank Hoar)–appeared in PUNCH and numerous newspapers, MEN ONLY, etc.
  • Alf. Jackson (Alfred Jackson)–contributed to PUNCH, etc?
  • L. B. M. (Leonard Bradshaw Martin)–contributed to PUNCH, etc?
  • Maurice Hall–contributed to PUNCH, UNION JACK, and reportedly to PUCK, etc?
  • Mervyn Wilson–contributed to PUNCH, etc?
  • Arthur D. J. Potts (Arthur Potts)–joined THE DAILY MAIL in 1945, revived TEDDY TAIL strip At least, I think “D. J.” are the initials featured, but I can’t find that information elsewhere
  •  D. P. Millar (David Philip Millar)–appeared in THE DAILY MIRROR, in Razzle, and Blighty mags. Became famous as a postcard artist
  •  Ian Peterson (I have no clue where this artist came from, though I’ve found the name here and there) might have worked for THE SUNDAY CHRONICLE or THE DAILY HERALD. Supposedly racy cartoons to the Razzle mag during the 1930s, though I’ve yet to see them, but he does appear alongside “P. Millar” (David P. Millar above!) in the Razzle 1935 Annual. Oddly, he turns up in tons of French publications and books, too, making me wonder if this name is an alias.

***UPDATE****

I’ve been sent the following by Colin West which shows a Guder drawing was auctioned in 2009 and credited  – so it looks as if Morgan’s guess was right – thanks Chris

Guder

“But Captain there’ll be just as nice a tide tomorrow.” by GUDER

But Chris goes on and says “There was a Lilian Palmer who did one or two books containing her own cartoons in 1950. Looking at the Beauty Queen cartoon, looks like it could be by a female hand”

Well off you go and do your stuff. Let us know via comments or by email and let’s see if we can track any of these down for Morgan

2 comments on “Detective work can be inspiring!

  1. C. West says:

    Found a gruber cartoon…will separately

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Morgan Wallace says:

    Any chance I could receive the titles of these books by Lilian Palmer? Love to give them a look-over, compare art styles. Cheers, Morgan Wallace

Leave a Reply

